The Fred M. Gilbough Award

Commandery Year
Tancred No. 822018
Borger No. 962018
Burnet No. 1132018
Hidalgo No. 942018
Worth No. 192018
Waco No. 102018
Park Place No. 1062018
Southeast Texas No. 1122018
Dallas No. 62015
High Plains No. 532015
Midland No. 842015
Vernon No. 332015
Tancred No. 822015
Ascension No. 252015
Park Place No. 1062015
Cleburne No. 122015
Burnet No. 1132015
St. Johns No. 1012015
Worth No. 192011
Amarillo No. 482010
Dallas No. 62007
Dallas No. 62000
Dallas No. 61996


The Fred M. Gilbough Plaques are awarded annually at the Awards Banquet by the Grand Commander to the Constituent Commanderies having the highest grade in the Asylum Ritual in each Templar District during the Annual Visitations and Inspections.

These, too, were awarded as Banners given to the Grand Commandery of Texas, at the Annual Conclave in Fort Worth, Texas, in April 1951, by Past Grand Commander R. B. Cowden. This award was named in memory of Sir Knight Fred M. Gilbough, who served as Grand Commander in 1901-1902.

At the Annual Conclave held in Tyler, Texas, in April 1959, the Grand Commandery voted to replace the Banners with special Bronze Plaques, emblazoned with a Cross and Crown at the top, and a bronze plate with the proper identification inscribed below, to be presented in the same manner as the Fred M. Gilbough Banners for efficiency in the Asylum Ritual. These plaques are traveling awards, retained by the winner only for the Templar Year, and are returned to the Grand Commandery for presentation again annually.

Per Article 341.

To see if your Commandery has won this award, it will be displayed in the awards tab of your Commandery page.